Be Nice!! (revised)

by triunebill


“They only listen to you if they like you.” That was a line I heard at a circle time following a VBS (vacation Bible School) for some very young people. The little kids were well little kids with short attention spans and focused on American Idol – apparently a big favorite of their parents I’m guessing.

As I thought about that line, I dismissed it but then this morning when I woke up, it was on my lips and seemed to be part of a dream I had. While I can’t remember the dream at all, I was thinking do I need to like Jesus in order to listen to Him? I mean I honor Him, worship Him, pray to Him and such things, but do I listen to Him?

I have heard it said this way, and it still boggles me – our incredible God came down here, entered history and took on flesh. He pitched His tent among us and stayed among us for over 30 years. Then He left us with this command – be nice to each other! “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another.” John 13:34 ESV.

I mean at that time was Jesus “cool?” When I first heard that line in the circle that was my thought – he was saying they like me because I’m cool to them. Or I don’t be talking and telling them stuff about doing this or doing that – then again, that verse from John smacks me on the side of my head. Is being cool all that, well cool? Is there a falseness at work here? Am I really pointing to myself when I act “cool?” Am I acting “cool” when I don’t feel like it, just to be “cool” or am I acting “cool” when speaking the truth in love might be called for in the situation?

Maybe what’s more important is being in a relationship. Maybe Jesus is telling me to be out there loving others first – without regard to being cool or being liked or being anything other than obedient to Him and humble to others.

What do you think?

Be blessed and be a blessing.

