My House is Messy!

by triunebill


I’ve been part of a unique and intentional community for the past several months. We call it a youth group but that is really misleading in so many ways as the ages range from 10 to 80. More on all of that shortly. For now ….

We work in circles – that is no teacher or lecturing but asking questions and talking about it (and the youth don’t have video games, movies and toys to amuse them yet they keep coming back!). Here’s one from not too long ago – how should a person keep his house?

The smaller group I was in pretty much agreed – keep your house neat. When we started talking about how to do all of that the discussion got a little more interesting. One of our regulars said can’t do it – my house is always messy!  She told us her house was small and with 4 people (2 teens!!!) it was simply impossible to keep it neat most of the time (and her Mom cleaned houses for a living).

So my thinking is that that whole thing about sin management fits right there.  No matter how hard my friend (and my room is not always that neat either) tries, her house is never going to be super neat and orderly and knowing my friend, she will work and work at it a long time and then her sister walks in and tosses stuff here and there.

So I wonder, if its truth that no matter how hard I try, it isn’t going to happen, do I just give it all up trying?  I mean my friend keeps on keeping on with straightening up things, but she is learning to live with a little messiness.  Is that something I need to do with the sin in my life?

I’m not all that sure myself – I mean its not like I should or can simply ignore the messiness (sin) and just keep on going.  Isn’t this life about eliminating sin from my walk?  Maybe then again, trying to focus on wiping the sin out isn’t really my mission.  Didn’t Jesus take care of that and through the Holy Spirit take on the responsibility for my heart?  Maybe I need to start looking at Jesus more and learning to live life like He did (not replicate but sort of like Peter, and John and James from Matthew 4:19 – “Come, follow me, Jesus said, and I will make you fishers of men.  At once they left their nets and followed him”).  Check out this great little story.

What do you think?

Be blessed and be a blessing.

