Miracles Do Happen

by triunebill


A sweet young lady I’m getting to know and love was weeping a few days ago. A secret as a few young ladies are in our group, despite raising 2 beautiful daughters weeping young ladies still rips my heart. But my secret is safe as I know most of them don’t read this. And if they do, well I raised 2 beautiful daughters who know my secret.

A long time ago a man named David was anointed the king of God’s chosen nation Israel. David was a good man but paradoxically he was not always a good man – someday we can read about Bathsheba and how she became queen.

Unlike today being anointed king wasn’t a done deal for David. There already was a king of Israel who didn’t much care for him. During the years when David was trying to avoid being killed at the hands of Saul, he wrote the 18th Psalm. Talk about being in a place where weeping would seem the only natural response. He writes,

The cords of death encompassed me,
The torrents of destruction assailed me;
The cords of Sheol entangled me;
the snares of death confronted me.

Talk about being in a bad place! There are echoes of a near death experience going on with this Psalm, and seemingly there is no way out. David called out, “in my distress I called upon the Lord; to my God I cried for help.”

David’s story, like ours, didn’t result in God performing a great miracle, and removing the source of the pain, though He did remove Saul reading 2 Samuel reveals David dealt with a huge amount of heartache, or for others restoring us to the way things were (when they were happy and good). Rather, God acts in a way that may even be downright destructive of the things we seem to think are most valuable. But at the same time He opens up a new space where we find room to trust in Him all the more.

One of my favorite songs is a sad song in some ways. Some of the lyric goes like this,

Two months is too little, they let him go
They had no sudden healing
To think that providence
Would take a child from his mother
While she prays, is appalling…

This is what it means to be held
How it feels when the sacred is torn from your life
And you survive
This is what it is to be loved and to know
That the promise was that when everything fell
We’d be held.

Some hard words and a hard place to stand. Sometimes when God answers these cries for help, when He hears our weeping, He indeed answers with a miracle. The miracle of having His people arriving to be His hands and just hold someone. We can be like David, sometimes good and sometimes bad, but in some way listening to His voice and showing up in a time and place He desires.

So for my young friend, know you are being held.

Be blessed and be a blessing.

