Visions and Such Things

by triunebill


Why are you here? Sometimes you have to wonder what God has in mind. A word I used to hate a lot is inscrutable – mainly because being partly Asian, in the old days (the phrase my daughters use to describe that ancient time when I was a kid), Charlie Chan was called inscrutable because he was Chinese, and apparently that is one of our Asian characteristics.

Well, maybe the word fits here. God is inscrutable. He does not offer up to us a blueprint and simply refuses to give us that step-by-step plan we are needing. I heard it said, “the process of Christian development has more to do with how dependent you have become on the Lord, not necessarily about being good.”

Sometimes I wish God gave me a vision – sort of like John’s Revelation, or even a short one like Isaiah had when he had his lips touched with that burning coal. Sometimes it seems like the dreams come, but always just sort of the plot line and never the middle and the ending – more of those cliff hangers type of dreams.

As odd as it seems, Jesus was fully dependent on the Father. He tells us quite clearly, in John 5:30 ESV, “I seek not my own will but the will of Him who sent me.” The Message renders it like this:

I can’t do a solitary thing on my own: I listen, then I decide. You can trust my decision because I’m not out to get my own way but only to carry out orders. If I were simply speaking on my own account, it would be an empty, self-serving witness.

It seems it all comes back to this idea of being a person of love and grace, and humility. None of these things are easy – listen carefully the next time someone says it is easy.

What would our little slice of life look like if we loved someone even when it hurts, or if we offered grace to someone who really doesn’t deserve it, or for one moment thought not less of ourselves but thought of ourselves less? Maybe we really can’t do a bang-up job of that. Then again, maybe we can do some reflecting on John’s rendering – I listen then I decide.

What do you think?

Be blessed and be a blessing.

