Grace Activity

by triunebill


I had the good fortune to attend a men’s breakfast a while ago and it has stuck with me over the last year or so. The speaker touched upon that great verse from Micah 6:8.

But he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do,
what God is looking for in men and women.
It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor,
be compassionate and loyal in your love,
And don’t take yourself too seriously – take God seriously.

I sometimes wonder why it isn’t given more play as it is a deeply relevant verse and maybe it has something to do with Micah being in the Old Testament and the Minor Prophets it seems a lot of contemporary evangelical churches don’t spend a lot of time with Old Testament stories but that is for another day.

The speaker asked us, table by table, to talk about what did acting justly look like. That struck me as I feel quite deeply that acting justly is a big deal as it has two levels – one of the examples concerned that guy who had found $150,000 a while ago, so the question was what would we do.

That’s the first level and for most of us I think the question is pretty easy. The second level is much much harder because it asks that same question but the circumstances are the mundane ordinary life – the day-to-day stuff we do. That’s where answering that question, what does acting justly look like, becomes really difficult.

But the discussion turned to thinking about what justice looked like. We all pretty much agreed that the determiner of justice was God and God alone. And on one level I get this idea but I’m not all that comfortable that the verse is talking all about doing justice in this sense.

It seems to me that acting justly has a lot more to do with how we are in right relationship with everyone who comes across our paths. Tied into all that is my sense that all those crossing our paths are really divine encounters. How we act toward the other when there isn’t that $150,000 in play is the real test I think. I’m thinking that next part of the verse has something to do with the answer.

Remember that Brennan Manning observation?

If we want people to experience the Kingdom of God and to dwell with God for eternity, then how they experience their relationship with us should be a foretaste of that goodness and joy.

How are we doing with that?

Be blessed and be a blessing.

