And They All Fall Down

by triunebill


Remember that silly little game – ring around the rosie? And they all fall down!

From time to time as Christ followers we may be called to consider how are we doing in this faith walk. Many times I think we ask ourselves if we are also following the ideal of Western civilization – independent, self-suffcient, and such things.

I remember reading a fair amount of Brennan Manning and he speaks much about this condition – which is not terminal but may be lifelong – asking such questions and expecting to really come up with a decent answer.

Sometimes I think we have to experience “failure” in the worldly sense of that word in order to understand it really isn’t our strengths that God seeks. Here is part of the devotional from a few days ago that brought this idea home to me.

I want you to blaze a trail for others who desire to live in My peaceful Presence. I have chosen you less for your strengths than for your weaknesses, which amplify your need for Me. Depend on Me more and more, and I will shower Peace on all your paths.

Young, Sarah (2004-10-12). Jesus Calling: Seeking Peace in His Presence (p. 311). Thomas Nelson. Kindle Edition.

I’m hearing echoes of Psalm 51:16 and Jesus from Matthew’s Gospel 9:13:

Then he added, “Now go and learn the meaning of this Scripture: ‘I want you to show mercy, not offer sacrifices.’ For I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners.

What do you think?

Be blessed and be a blessing

